Understanding Course Levels

Entry Level

These are pre-GCSE level and are ideal for those who didn’t get the grades they hoped for at school and want to improve their education.

Level 1

A step up from Entry Level. These one-year courses are the equivalent of GCSE grades 3 or D to E.

Level 2

Level 2 courses are the equivalent of GCSE grades 4 or A* to C.

Level 3

These are equivalent to A-Levels and can be studied over one or two years. They can be taken as Diplomas, Extended Diplomas, 90-credit Diplomas or Subsidiary Diplomas. We can help you decide the right path for you.


Our Bishop Burton campus has been chosen as one of a select few educational institutions across England to pioneer the new T-Level qualifications. The two-year courses, which are being introduced from September 2020, will be the equivalent of three A-Levels.

Access to Higher Education

These are designed for people aged 19 or over who want to return to education and prepare students to study at degree-level.

Higher National Certificate (HNC)

These one-year, full-time programmes are the equivalent to the first year of a Bachelor’s Degree and can also lead to a Higher National Diploma (HND) or the second year of a Foundation Degree or Bachelor’s Degree.

Foundation Degrees

Two-year degree programmes that can also lead to a BA or BSc Degree, with an additional ‘top up’ year of study.

Bachelor’s Degrees

These three-year programmes are available as Bachelor of Science (BSc) or Bachelor of Arts (BA) and are of equal status.

Masters Degrees

These postgraduate courses are the highest level of study that we offer. To be eligible to study a Master’s Degree, students must have already completed a BSc or BA.

You seem to be using an unsupported browser

To get the most out of this site please upgrade your browser.